Mon, 14 June 2021

Laurel releases Limbo Cheery EP

Communion Records

LAUREL released her hotly-anticipated ‘LIMBO CHERRY’ EP on June 25th, the followup and spiritual successor to 2020s acclaimed ‘PETROL BLOOM’. Produced by Chrome Sparks and mixed by Geoff Swan (Caroline Polachek, Charli XCX), ‘LIMBO CHERRY’ has firmly cemented LAUREL as one of the most exciting alt-pop acts of the last few years; an artist who can combine raw, authentic songwriting with a hook you can’t get out of your head for days. Take lead single ‘You’re The One’ for example - an ode to true love that moves seamlessly between shimmering verses and a belter of a chorus, earning LAUREL over 40 playlist adds and plays on both BBC Radio 1 and Triple J in its first week of release.

The rest of ‘LIMBO CHERRY’ sees LAUREL navigating the many faces of human relationships: ‘Wild Side’ looks at a toxic relationship that thrives on drama, while ‘Obsessed’ showcases a playful side to LAUREL, honing in on that unashamed teenage longing vibe. ‘Let Go’ explores themes of fierce loyalty - almost to a fault - and EP closer, ‘Drown In Sunlight’ sees her navigating waves of doubt and disconnect that come with almost any long-term relationship.